You and many others may have an evolving opinion on marijuana. Some people believe marijuana is not as dangerous at it was purported to be in years past. Some states have gone as far as legalizing the sale and possession of small amounts of marijuana. However, Texas is not one of those states and marijuana possession and sale is still illegal in the state, except for a few medical exceptions.
Under Texas law, selling a mere seven grams of marijuana could lead to a jail sentence of 180 days and a $2,000 fine. Selling more than 50 pounds of marijuana is a felony crime. It could lead to a prison sentence of up to 99 years. In addition, selling marijuana to a minor is also a felony crime. It can lead to a prison sentence of up to 20 years. As you can see, Texas takes a hard stance against the sale of marijuana in the state.
Texas law does, however, have an exception for medical marijuana in certain, limited circumstances, mainly for intractable epilepsy. A person with such a condition can possess a low-THC, high-CBD oil if they have a valid prescription from a doctor. However, a person cannot grow marijuana or sell marijuana except at a state-licensed facility.
Marijuana is an illegal substance
Despite a loosening attitude towards the possession and sale of small amounts of marijuana for personal use among many in the nation, the fact of the matter is that the possession and sale of marijuana is illegal in Texas and carries hefty penalties. If you are accused of a drug crime involving marijuana in Texas you will want to make sure you have the help you need to understand your rights and options in your defense.